Pro Tools 101

This past weekend I began an intensive crash course designed to teach you everything there is to know about Pro Tools, the standard professional post-production and music audio software.  I made the switch to Pro Tools from Apple’s Logic Pro, and quite frankly, have never understood what all the fuss was about over Pro Tools.  Logic had more options, more plug-ins, surround sound capabilities, and free time code.  When compared to Logic (and other audio applications), Pro Tools did not seem to really compare.  But my school pushed Pro Tools, so I begrudgingly made the switch.

This quarter I decided I would take a course designed to really get to know Pro Tools, and I’m quickly realizing that I had underestimated Pro Tools, and that maybe I should accept that people who have been doing audio for a living in the last twenty years might just know what they’re talking about.  I only completed the first of four weekend crash courses, but have already changed my workflow to allow for my new knowledge.  The intuitive interface and workflow in Pro Tools allows you to do a great deal in a very short amount of time.

41nzpdccmql_sl160_pisitb-sticker-arrow-dptopright12-18_sh30_ou01_aa115_

I highly recommend any of you audio pros or wannabee pros or hobbyists to check into the Pro Tools 101, 110, 201, and 210 courses if you have a facility to go to and the means to pay for it.  It definitely will benefit you editing and mixing chops.

I now see that maybe a lot of my gripes about Pro Tools could have been a little unfair.  With Pro Tools 8 around the corner, however, I am not complaining if they want to throw some extras my way.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

